Neville Alexander prestige eerbewys 2018 Taalmuseum klein

Neville Alexander Prestige Award: Call for nominations
R20 000 at stake for unsung language heroes

The Council of the Afrikaans Language Museum and Monument (ATM) invites the public to nominate suitable candidates for their third Neville Alexander prestige awards worth R10 000 each, sponsored by Naspers.

According to Michael Jonas, Director of the ATM, these awards attempt to acknowledge the unsung heroes of Afrikaans and multilingualism, and to promote language projects. Alexander (1936-2012) was an award-winning linguist, activist, educator and academic who strongly advocated multilingualism and mother-tongue education in South Africa.

“The awards will be bestowed on someone who devoted or devotes his/her time and life to making Afrikaans accessible to all, as well as a person who uses Afrikaans as a medium to promote cohesion and nation-building,” says Jonas.

The winners will be announced by the Chair of the Board on 13 October 2018 during the ATM’s 43th birthday celebrations and its annual Neville Alexander conversation. The winners will receive a certificate and prize money worth R10 000 for relevant language projects. Previous winners were the faculty of education at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology (Wellington), Sabina Dumas, Susan Smith, Elizabeth Dennise van Schalkwyk, and Woorde Open Wêrelde.

A nomination form is available at the ATM and the nominations, for individuals or an organisation, must reach the ATM before or on 15 June 2018 at PO Box 498, Paarl 7646, or by e-mail at For more information, call 021 863 0543/4809 and see