brokkie taalmuseum afrikaans amptelik

8 May 1925

The eighth of May 1925 is a very important date in the history of Afrikaans. On that day the Official Languages of the Union Act No 8 of 1925 was accepted in Parliament. The law recognised Afrikaans as the official language of the country, apart from English, 50 years after the founding of the Genootskap vir Regte Afrikaners (GRA).