The Council of the Afrikaanse Taalmuseum en -monument (ATM) in Paarl invites the public to nominate suitable candidates for their second annual Neville Alexander prestige award.

Taalmuseum Taalmonument Neville Alexander  2016 (1)

Alexander (1936-2012) was an award winning linguist, educator and academic, who campaigned tirelessly for multilingualism and mother tongue education in South Africa.

According to Michael Jonas, Director of the ATM, this prestige award is an initiative to honour the unsung heroes of Afrikaans and to promote language projects.

“The award will be given to a suitable candidate or institution for outstanding contributions in any field of Afrikaans as mother tongue, or in the promotion of multilingualism, on grassroots level,” says Jonas.

The joint winners of the first prestige award, in 2015, were the education faculty of the Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) in Wellington, and Sabina Dumas, educator at New Orleans Secondary School in Paarl.

The winner will be announced by the Chairperson of the Council at the ATM’s annual Neville Alexander dialogue on Heritage Day, 24 September 2016. The winner will receive a certificate and a cash award of R20 000 in support of a relevant language project.

Nomination forms are available from the ATM. Nominations should reach the ATM before or on 14 August 2016 at PO Box 498, Paarl 7646, or via e-mail at For enquiries, call 021 863 0543/4809.